Q: What if I'm stopped by law enforcement? Any suggestions?
A: Where possible, it's best to stay seated in your vehicle, with both hands on the steering wheel. Do not reach to an area where your firearm is concealed without first advising the officer that you possess a firearm in your vehicle or on your person.
Q: Does a person carrying a weapon in a vehicle also have to have a permit for the gun?
A: No. A weapon may be carried anywhere in a vehicle, even concealed on the person, without having a CCW permit.
Q: Does a concealed carry permit allow a holder to carry a concealed pistol on a public bus?
A: No. Only law enforcement, commercial security personnel, and persons with consent of the owner are exempt from this provision.
Q: What if I fail to update my permit when I move or change my name?
A: A concealed carry permit shall automatically become invalid if the holder has not notified the sheriff of the changes within 30 days of the change.
Q: How long is my concealed carry permit valid?
A: Effective January 1, 2014, sheriffs will issue concealed carry permits that are valid for five years.
Q: What if I fail to renew my permit? Is there a grace period?
A: Yes. There is a grace period of six months; but, there is also a $10 per month late fee assessed by the sheriff.
Q: What happens if a disqualifying fact is discovered after the permit is issued?
A: There are provisions for the sheriff to revoke a person's permit. The Sheriff will notify the Missouri Uniform Law Enforcement System in the event a permit is revoked.
Q: Is the list of carrying concealed permit holders a public record?
A: No, it is private information. Only law enforcement will have access to that information.
We offer a comprehensive CCW class, taught by a certified instructor, which meets the Missouri state regulations required in order to apply for your CCW permit. Each class is an 8 hour session, and includes a live fire session in our indoor air conditioned range. The class covers handgun safety, range safety, the mindset and legality issues of carrying concealed, basic shooting principles, and the care of a firearm.
Upon successful completion of the CCW class, each participant will receive a certificate of completion, which you would then take to your local sheriff's office to apply for your CCW permit.
Each person will:
-Shoot with a revolver or a semi-automatic handgun (any caliber).
-40 rounds fired (20 rounds are practice rounds, and 20 rounds will be qualifying rounds.
-You must hit with 70% accuracy (on your qualifying rounds) at a distance of 21 feet.
-Eye and ear protection must be worn at all times at the range (bring your own or purchase here).
-You may either use your own handgun or borrow ours (free of charge), you just provide the ammunition.
We typically offer one, to two, CCW classes each month on a Saturday (click the link to see the current schedule). The class begins here at the store at 9:00am. You will do the textbook portion in our classroom. There will be a break for lunch, and then sometime in the afternoon, everyone will complete the actual shooting qualification portion in our climate controlled indoor range.
ONLY $70 TOTAL This includes the classroom and the range portion (there is NO additional range fee) You may bring your own gun, or borrow one from our rental selection at no additional cost, you just provide / purchase the eye protection, and ammunition.
Please note: We understand occasionally life happens and you can not make your scheduled class; in order to move to a different date or receive a partial refund, you must contact us 6 days before your scheduled class date.
A FULL SERVICE
INDOOR SHOOTING RANGE
Copyright © cherokee firearms.
Mon.-Sat. 9:00-7:00, Sun.12:00-4:00